Others, understandably, have a reasonable expectation of privacy and want the dating app to value discretion.“When I first saw that I could see everybody I was a little bit shocked because I figured that a big app like this would give a little more privacy than that, especially considering when first signing up they make a big deal about no one on Facebook being able to see that you are using this app," one user told Business Insider.
“We are only testing it at this point, but it's important to note Tinder's not a secret considering 70% of users download Tinder because their friends recommend it.”Unfortunately for Tinder, in-app group dating has been tried before, and it has not taken off.
On-demand group-dating service Grouper failed to gain traction after one of its co-founders left the company amid controversy five years ago.
Business Insider talked to some early Tinder Social users who said the feature isn’t opt-in—it’s automatically activated.
When someone adds you to their list to make a group for Tinder Social, others can see you in the group, and can see that you’re an active Tinder user.
“You can then chat with your group matches or see their status to find out what they’re up to and where everyone’s headed," Tinder explains in a blog post.